Fast No-Knead Whole Wheat Bread

Fast No-Knead Whole Wheat Bread

 

I’ve wanted a grain mill for a long time. This Christmas my husband finally bought me one – thank you, Hon! The mill, made in Germany, is called the Fidibus Classic.

I wasn’t sure how often I’d use a mill, although I had read enough about how nutritious freshly milled grains were that I thought it would be a smart purchase. Well, I don’t use my mill every single day, but I do use it often enough that I feel good about the purchase (it wasn’t cheap).

To use the mill, you just pour in whatever grain you have, turn on the machine, and out comes freshly ground whatever. There’s something so wholesome and, literally speaking, warming to the soul, about the whole thing.

I’ve been making a lot of bread lately and discovered a recipe I love that is simple and takes almost no time to put together. The recipe uses a few types of flour, but what I like about it is that the types of flour you use can be varied. I’ve used rye flour, buckwheat, and spelt, along with the base of the whole wheat flour; I think my favorite is the spelt with the whole wheat.

Thanks to Mark Bittman, who first published this recipe in the New York Times. 

Fast No-Knead Whole Wheat Bread 

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup whole rye flour

1/2 cup coarse cornmeal

1 teaspoon instant yeast

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

Oil as needed.

1. Combine flours, cornmeal, yeast and salt in a large bowl. Add 1 1/2 cups water and stir until blended; dough will be shaggy. Cover bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough rest about 4 hours at warm room temperature, about 70 degrees.

2. Oil a standard loaf pan (8 or 9 inches by 4 inches; nonstick works well). Lightly oil your hands and shape dough into a rough rectangle. Put it in pan, pressing it out to the edges. Brush top with a little more oil. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest 1 hour more.

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake bread about 45 minutes, or until loaf reaches an internal temperature of 210 degrees. Remove bread from pan and cool on a rack.

Yield: 1 loaf.

Note: If you want to use different types of flours, you can, but keep in at least 2 cups whole wheat flour.

February 19, 2009. Breads.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

